my felipe

June 22, 2008 at 6:29 pm 1 comment

 


my felipe

Originally uploaded by jaimecru

My baby truly colors my world. Every day there are new discoveries, new words. Thursday he added “bllllack” to his color vocabulary while sifting through his crayons with Daddy. Also on Thursday night, my hubby, my mom and I got together to wish my little Felipe a big happy second birthday.

After reading Rawdorable’s blog earlier that afternoon, I decided to add a rainbow theme to the dinner menu. I had already made the sauerkraut last week, adapting a recipe from I Am Grateful. I made a “potato” salad using diced jicama dressed with pinenut mayo and tossed with fresh dill and parsley. The carrot salad has chopped raisins, cider vinegar, and olive oil. It all seemed so German, so I had to toss some gherkins onto the platter and indulge my obsession with goofy translations: Regenbogensalatbüffet!

rainbow salad buffet

My mom insisted that I bake a traditional cake for the day. It was the first time I’d turned on the oven in months. The process felt odd, but I have to admit that the smell of cake baking was lovely. After the candles were blown out and cake eaten, it was time for Felipe to drive his car! I can’t believe that I’m that parent, the one who buys her baby a crazy commercialized, over-priced hunk of landfill-destined plastic, but Daddy discovered this toy and we knew that Felipe would love it…and love it he does.

There is something absolutely adorable about a baby driving a car. We live on a quiet, dead-end street, so Felipe was able to drive down the block and back. At the end of his joyride he said goodbye to all of the beauty around him as he cruised home. ”Bye-bye tree, bye-bye flower, bye-bye bird”. I’m so blessed to have a beautiful, healthy boy who always finds joy and brings it to everyone around him. He’s my little rainbow.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

quick cookie sharing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hihorosie  |  June 24, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    How cute! I love it when kids drive those cars – they’re crazy! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

James Reno on uh oh rawsgettiOs
hihorosie on uh oh rawsgettiOs

Flickr Me

Feeds

RSS Rawleen

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

