bellyaches

June 30, 2008 at 11:30 pm 2 comments

   

 

 

 

No, no, no…this fresh meal in no way made my tummy hurt, it’s just the name of the cucumber salad. I grew up in rural Illinois, a “corn fed dame” as my hubby from Long Island likes to call me. When the summer heat was at its peak, and generous friend’s gardens bursting, my family would have a meal very similar to that in the picture. My great aunt Jesse was the best bellyaches maker. Paper thin cukes, vidalia onion, white vinegar and lots of sugar and salt. My RAW bellyaches recipe (for a very small batch that is in no way sharable) is: 1 cucumber peeled and thinly sliced, 1/8 large vidalia thinly sliced, 2 T apple cider vinegar, 1 T agave, 1/2 t sea salt. I rounded out my corn-fed dame meal with some salted tomatoes and a quick chop of orange bell (from my friend’s garden!) and jalepeno peppers drizzled with olive oil. I did cook the corn (just can’t get a taste for raw), but I only got one bite before my baby stole it from my plate anyway!

 

Entry filed under: agave, raw. Tags: , , , .

sharing raw junk

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hihorosie  |  July 1, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Mmmm! Bellyaches sounds great! And with a side of tomates with a pinch of salt and pepper what could be better? Oh and corn….love the stuff! That plate of goodness is very pleasing to the eye. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Colleen  |  July 1, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Great picture!!! That recipe sounds scrumptious!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

James Reno on uh oh rawsgettiOs
hihorosie on uh oh rawsgettiOs

Flickr Me

More Photos

Feeds

RSS Rawleen

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Julie’s Raw Ambition

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

