raw junk

July 12, 2008 at 9:39 am 1 comment


dorawtos and guac

Originally uploaded by jaimecru

I must admit to being Jaime light and dark this week with my eating. I certainly don’t want this post to have the tone of a confessional, but I fear that when all is said and done, it will. On a positive note, however, wavering between high raw days and restaurant meals is an opportunity to notice how specifically my body responds to different foods and levels of cooking/processing. The day following a traditional cooked meal or a processed evening snack (crackers are my weakness), I wake up so itchy, unbearably itchy…my hands, arms, face, legs, my underarms…craziness. I’m curious as to whether others have experienced this? I’ve always been so itching, but my skin appears normal, no eczema, etc. I did some googling and made a self-diagnosis of Fox Fordyce disease. There is no medical cure, so I’m sure a raw diet is it! I should contact the authorities. Today’s remedy for a meringue hangover was carrot/beet/cucumber/grapefruit juice. I’m so excited to be a juicer now!

Also this week, I made a great raw chip:
1 1/4 C sunflower seeds, soaked
3/4 C almond meal
1/4 C flax meal
2 orange bell peppers
2 cloves garlic
2 T cumin
Sea Salt
Blend together in food processor or Vitamix until smooth. Spread as thin as possible on 3-4 Teflex sheets. Dehydrate for 18-24 hours or until able to peel from sheet. Flip and dehydrate 4-6 more hours on mesh screen or until dry enough to cut into triangles ( I used kitchen shears). Keep dehydrating until crisp. (This process is a bit arduous in Florida.) Next time I make this recipe, I’m going to create a spice blend to dust on top of the chips…the kind that leaves a mess on your fingers!

I’m still perfecting my raw chocolate recipe. These macadamia nut butter cups were good, but not quite right. The chocolate was not rich enough and the filling was not sweet enough. I’ll be continuing with recipe development, so please come back to my blog!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

bellyaches brazil sea-viche wraps

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hihorosie  |  July 12, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Well, those chocolate cups sure look good enough! YUMMY! Look forward to the perfected recipe one day. 😀

    And those chips sound and look really good (professional!). I’m lazy with mine and just break them into pieces. But I love the idea of having some sort of spice powder on them to make the fingers messy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

James Reno on uh oh rawsgettiOs
hihorosie on uh oh rawsgettiOs

Flickr Me

More Photos

Feeds

RSS Rawleen

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Julie’s Raw Ambition

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

