brazil sea-viche wraps

July 14, 2008 at 12:25 pm 1 comment

Yesterday I made a curious concoction for lunch. Totally makeshift, as I had very few ingredients remaining in the fridge, but the flavors were great! I started with the Brazil nuts, because I was starving and knew that I needed some substance. I didn’t want to make the usual bland nut pate, so I had the notion of trying to capture the flavors of ceviche…lime, onion and chile. To make the pate, I combined 2/3 C Brazil nuts, pulp from 2 juiced carrots, 2 scallions, 1/2 clove garlic, 1 jalepeno, 1 nori sheet torn into pieces, juice of one lime, 2 T olive oil, sea salt. Puree in food processor to desired consistency. I wrapped in nori with chopped broccoli and cut into “sushi” pieces after taking the photo. I made hubby a sandwich with a tortilla wrap which he loved. Next time, I’m going to alter the preparation technique and perhaps soak the nuts to soften and create a chunkier sea-viche. The backdrop for the photo is a mid-day mojito which I’ve been drinking by the pitcher-full lately, and a “green bag” produce storage sack.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

raw junk back to work

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hihorosie  |  July 17, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Aren’t those green bags great? Anyway your rolls looks great. I’m not a huge fan of nori but the pate you made sounds super good that it’d be really good with cucumber or collard greens for me. Or if I’m daring, a nori wrap! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

James Reno on uh oh rawsgettiOs
hihorosie on uh oh rawsgettiOs

Flickr Me

Feeds

RSS Rawleen

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Julie’s Raw Ambition

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

